Grants & Fellowship
Grants and Fellowships

Van Wagenen Fellow List of Hosting Institutions

Van Wagenen Fellow Year Institution Country
D. Ryan Ormond, MD 2013 Institute for Reconstructive Neurobiology at the Rheinische Friedrich-Wilhelms Universität Bonn Germany
Matthew Christopher Tate, MD 2012 Gui de Chauliac Hospital, Montpellier University Medical Center France
Ben Waldau, MD 2011 University of Dresden (Center for Regenerative Therapies) Germany
Nicholas F. Marko, MD 2011 University of Cambridge, Department of Applied Mathematics and Theoretical Physics (DAMTP) United Kingdom
Andrew W. Grande, MD 2010 Helmholtz Zentrum München Germany
Michael C. Park, MD, PhD 2009 Assistance Publique L’Hospital d’Adulte de la Timone France
Samuel H. Cheshier, MD, PhD 2008 Lund Univerity Sweden
James C. Miller, MD 2007 University of Tubingen Germany
Uzma Samadani, MD, PhD 2006 University of Goettingen Germany
Yu-Hung Kuo, MD PhD 2006 Fliders Medical Centre Australia
Devin K. Binder, MD, PhD 2005 University of Bonn Medical Center Germany
Stephen M. Russell, MD 2004 Ludwig Maximilians, University of Munich Germany
Odette A. Harris, MD MPH 2003 University Hospital of the West Indies Jamaica
Saadi Ghatan, MD 2002 Institute of Child Health/Great Ormond Street Hospital England
Shekar N. Kurpad, MD, PhD 2001 Karolinska Institute Sweden
P. Charles Garell, MD 2000 Centre Hospitalier Universitaire France
Theodore H. Schwartz, MD 1999 Tobias Bonheoffer Max-Planck Institute for Neurobiology Germany
Kamal Thapar, MD FRCSC 1998 University of Erlagen-Nurnberg Germany
Zelma H.T. Kiss, MD, PhD 1997 University of Calgary Canada
Howard L. Weiner, MD 1996 Institut d'Embryologie Cellulaire et Moleculaire France
Timothy C. Ryken, MD 1995 Cambridge Centre for Brain Repair United Kingdom
Ivar M. Mendez, MD PhD 1994 University of Lund Sweden
Mark E. Linskey, MD 1993 Ludwig Institute for Cancer Research England
Mary Louise Hlavin, MD 1992 Cambridge University England
Ian F. Pollack, MD 1991 Centre Hospitalier Universitaire Vaudois Switzerland
Ian F. Pollack, MD 1991 University of Uppsala Sweden
Walter A. Hall, MD 1990 Norwegian Radium Hospital Norway
Walter A. Hall, MD 1990 Frenchay Hospital England
David W. Newell, MD 1989 Inselpital Switzerland
Mark W. Jones, MD 1988 Queens Square England
Emily D. Friedman, MD 1987 Sandoz Institute England
Emily D. Friedman, MD 1987 Hospital Salpetriere France
Emily D. Friedman, MD 1987 Laboratory of Professor Björklund Sweden
Edward G. Hames, MD PhD 1986 Kings College England
Marc R. Mayberg, MD 1985 Queens Square England
Edmund H. Frank, MD FACS 1984 Switzerland England
Lawrence F. Borges, MD 1983 Merck, Sharpe & Dohme Research Laboratories England
Larry V. Carson, MD MBA 1982 Hospital Foch France
Stephen J. Haines, MD 1981 Radcliffe Infirmary England
L. Dade Lunsford, MD 1980 Karolinska Sjukhuset Sweden
George W. Tyson, MD MBA 1979 Institute of Neurological Sciences Scotland
Jay D. Law, MD 1978 Centro Ramon y Cajal Spain
William F. Chandler, MD FACS 1977 Karolinska Institute Sweden
Patrick J. Kelly, MD FACS 1976 Saint Anne and Foch Hospitals France
Patrick J. Kelly, MD FACS 1976 Western General Hospital Scotland
Lawrence H. Pitts, MD 1975 Institute of Neurological Sciences Scotland
W. Michael Vise, MD (deceased) 1974 Max Planck Institute Germany
Joan L. Venes, MD (deceased) 1973 Wellcome Research Institute Scotland
Robert A. Ratcheson, MD 1972 Brain Research Laboratory Sweden
Ira D. Denton, Jr. MD 1971 Kantonsspital Zurich Switzerland
M. Peter Heilbrun, MD 1970 Bispejerg & Rigs Hospitals Denmark
John M. Tew, Jr. 1969 Kantonsspital Zurich Sweden
Richard M. Bergland MD (deceased) 1968 Oxford University United Kingdom
Click here to book housing for the 2015 AANS Annual Scientific Meeting! Click here to submit your abstracts!