Skip to Main Content

Scientific Session IV: Pediatrics

Monday, April 30 | 2:00 pm - 5:30 pm

Moderator(s): Carolyn Sue Quinsey, MD; Scellig S. D. Stone, MD, PhD, FAANS

2:00 pm - 2:03 pm

552. The need for Intensive Care Unit level of care in patients undergoing craniosynostosis surgery

Krista Noel Sophia Greenan, MD

2:04 pm - 2:07 pm

553. Sports-Related Concussions and Resulting Occipital Headaches: The Role of Posterior Scalp Nerve Decompression

Rajiv Iyer, MD

2:08 pm - 2:11 pm

Question and Answer Session

2:12 pm - 2:15 pm

554. Risk-Adjusted Overall Survival for Pediatric High Grade Astrocytomas by Location and Treatment in a National Cohort

J. Bryan Iorgulescu, MD

2:16 pm - 2:19 pm

555. Biomechanical Finite Element Analysis of the Developing Craniocervical Junction

Douglas L. Brockmeyer, MD, FAANS

2:20 pm - 2:23 pm

Question and Answer Session

2:24 pm - 2:27 pm

556. Quantitative Arteriovenous Malformation Scales Better Predict Early Outcomes in Pediatric Patients after Stereotactic Radiosurgery

Swapnil Mehta

2:28 pm - 2:31 pm

557. Incidence of Cervicomedullary Decompression in Patients with Achondroplasia: A Large, National Database Analysis

Jeffrey Nadel

2:32 pm - 2:35 pm

Question and Answer Session

2:36 pm - 2:38 pm

Announcement of Schulman and Hydrocephalus Awards

Mark R. Proctor, MD, FAANS

2:39 pm - 2:42 pm

Introduction of the Donald D. Matson Lecture

Mark R. Proctor, MD, FAANS

2:43 pm - 3:29 pm

Donald D. Matson Lecture: Pediatric Neurosurgery - a 50 year perspective

R. Michael Scott, MD, FAANS(L)

R. Michael Scott, MD, FAANS(L), is neurosurgeon-in-chief-emeritus at Boston Children’s Hospital and a Harvard Medical School professor. His major clinical and research interests are pediatric cerebrovascular disease, brain tumors and congenital malformations of the brain and spinal cord.

He is a past president of the American Society of Pediatric Neurosurgeons (ASPN), a former Director of the American Association of Neurological Surgeons (AANS) and a past chairman of the AANS/CNS Section on Pediatric Neurological Surgery. Among the many awards he has received, Dr. Scott was given the Franc Ingraham Award for Distinguished Service to Pediatric Neurosurgery from the AANS/CNS Pediatric Section in 2011, the Distinguished Service Medalist Award from the Neurosurgical Society of America in 2012 and the William Silen Mentoring Award from Harvard Medical School in June of 2012.

3:30 pm - 4:00 pm

Beverage Break in the AANS Exhibit Hall and Learning Center

4:08 pm - 4:11 pm

Question and Answer Session

4:19 pm - 4:22 pm

Question and Answer Session

4:23 pm - 4:58 pm

Career Reflections

Derek A. Bruce, MD, FAANS(L)

4:59 pm - 5:09 pm

Point/Counterpoint Session: Pediatric Skull Base Surgery: Expanded Endonasal Approaches

Elizabeth C. Tyler-Kabara, MD, PhD, FAANS

5:10 pm - 5:20 pm

Point/Counterpoint Session: Pediatric Skull Base Surgery: Open Approaches

Michael Lee Levy, MD, PhD, FAANS

5:21 pm - 5:30 pm

Question and Answer Session