About AANS
About AANS
· Executive Committee & Officers
· Neurosurgical Representatives & Liaisons to Other Organizations
· AANS Committees
· AANS Guidelines for Corporate Relations (PDF)
· Joint Statement - Guidelines on Neurosurgeon-Industry Conflict of Interest (PDF)
· Joint Committees
· Organizational Chart (PDF)
· AANS Strategic Plan (PDF)
· AANS Bylaws (PDF)
· NREF Bylaws (PDF)
· Code of Ethics (PDF)
· Governance Conflict of Interest Policy (PDF)
· Guidelines on Neurosurgeon-Industry Conflicts of Interest (PDF)
· AANS Statement On Discrimination and Harassment (PDF)
· Rules for Neurosurgical Medical/Legal Expert Opinion Services (10KB PDF)
· AANS Past Presidents
· Voting Issues
· AANS Professional Conduct Fact Sheet (PDF)
· AANS Professional Conduct Committee Procedural Guidelines(PDF)

AANS Governance and Leadership

Executive Committee & Board of Directors


Frederick  A.  Boop, MD, FAANS, FACS


Alex  B.  Valadka, MD, FAANS, FACS


Christopher  I.  Shaffrey, MD, FAANS


John  A.  Wilson, MD, FAANS, FACS

Past President

H. Hunt  Batjer, MD, FAANS, FACS

Vice President

Timothy  B.  Mapstone, MD, FAANS

Appointed Officer - Executive Director

Kathleen  T.  Craig

Appointed Officer - Legal Counsel-Parliamentarian

Michael  A.  Chabraja, Esq.


Nicholas  M.  Barbaro, MD, FAANS, FACS
Richard  G.  Ellenbogen, MD, FAANS, FACS
Regis  W.  Haid, Jr., MD, FAANS
Robert  F.  Heary, MD, FAANS
Anil  Nanda, MD, MPH, FAANS, FACS
Susan  C.  Pannullo, MD, FAANS

Regional Director

Moustapha  Abou-Samra, MD, FAANS, FACS
Holly  S.  Gilmer, MD, FAANS
Charles  L.  Rosen, MD, PhD, FAANS
G. Edward  Vates, MD, PhD, FAANS, FACS


Aviva  Abosch, MD, PhD, FAANS
Randy  S.  Bell, MD, FAANS
Kevin  M.  Cockroft, MD, FAANS, FACS
Sarah  J.  Gaskill, MD, FAANS, FACS
Robert  E.  Harbaugh, MD, FAANS, FACS
Steven  N.  Kalkanis, MD, FAANS
John  Joseph  Knightly, MD, FAANS
Andre  Guelman  Machado, MD, PhD
Daniel  Bernard  Michael, MD, PhD, FAANS
Mark  C.  Preul, MD
Jon  H.  Robertson, MD, FAANS, FACS
James  T.  Rutka, MD, PhD, FAANS
Uzma  Samadani, MD, PhD, FAANS
Ann  R.  Stroink, MD, FAANS
Krystal  Lynne  Tomei, MD, MPH


A.  Graham  Fieggen, MD, IFAANS
Ian  G.  Fleetwood, MD, FAANS, FRCSC
J. Andre  Grotenhuis, MD, PhD, IFAANS
Mark  N.  Hadley, MD, FAANS, FACS
Russell  R.  Lonser, MD, FAANS
Blas  Ezequiel  Lopez Felix, MD, FAANS
Basant  Kumar  Misra, MD
Franco  Servadei, MD
Christopher  I.  Shaffrey, MD, FAANS
Edgardo  Spagnuolo, MD
Yong-Kwang  Tu, MD., PhD


Michael  Schulder, MD, FAANS
Click here to book housing for the 2015 AANS Annual Scientific Meeting! Click here to submit your abstracts!