Press Release:

New York Neurosurgeon Named President of the American Association of Neurological Surgeons

DENVER (April 11, 2011) - Paul C. McCormick, MD, will be named president of the American Association of Neurological Surgeons (AANS) at the AANS Annual Meeting in Denver, April 9-13, 2011. An active member of the AANS since 1992, Dr. McCormick completed a one-year term as president elect and prior to that, a three-year term as treasurer. He has served on the AANS Executive Committee for four years. He served on the AANS Board of Directors from 2002 to 2005 and as chair of the AANS/CNS Section on Disorders of the Spine and Peripheral Nerves from 2000 to 2001. He served as chair of the 2001 AANS Annual Meeting and chair of the Scientific Program Committee in 2000. He is a member of the following AANS committees: Development, Executive, Finance, NeurosurgeryPAC Board of Directors, and Strategic Planning. He is currently president of NeuroPoint Alliance, LLC.

Dr. McCormick has been on the staff at Columbia-Presbyterian Medical Center since 1990. In July 2006, he was appointed the Herbert and Linda Gallen Professor of Clinical Neurological Surgery at Columbia University, College of Physicians and Surgeons. In March 2007, he received the prestigious John Jay award for professional achievement from Columbia University.

Dr. McCormick received his undergraduate degree from Columbia University College in 1978. He received his medical degree from Columbia University, College of Physicians and Surgeons in 1982. After finishing a general surgery internship at Columbia-Presbyterian Medical Center in 1983 and a fellowship at the National Institutes of Health in 1984, he completed his residency in neurological surgery at the Neurological Institute of New York in 1989. He completed a one-year fellowship in spinal surgery at the Medical College of Wisconsin in 1990. He received his MPH degree in Health Policy and Management and Clinical Outcomes Assessment from the Columbia University School of Public Health in 2000.

Dr. McCormick’s research, clinical, and teaching interests have focused on the evaluation and management of disorders of the spine and spinal cord. He has particular expertise in the microsurgical treatment of spinal cord tumors and vascular malformations. He has published more than 170 peer-reviewed articles and book chapters, and currently serves on the editorial boards of five peer-reviewed journals: the Journal of Neurosurgery, Neurosurgery, Spine, The Spine Journal and Journal of Neurosurgery: Spine. In addition, he has served as a director and vice chair of the American Board of Neurological Surgery.

Founded in 1931 as the Harvey Cushing Society, the American Association of Neurological Surgeons (AANS) is a scientific and educational association with more than 8,000 members worldwide. The AANS is dedicated to advancing the specialty of neurological surgery in order to provide the highest quality of neurosurgical care to the public. All active members of the AANS are certified by the American Board of Neurological Surgery, the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons (Neurosurgery) of Canada or the Mexican Council of Neurological Surgery, AC. Neurological surgery is the medical specialty concerned with the prevention, diagnosis, treatment and rehabilitation of disorders that affect the entire nervous system including the spinal column, spinal cord, brain and peripheral nerves.

# # #

Article ID:
Click here to book housing for the 2015 AANS Annual Scientific Meeting! Click here to submit your abstracts!