Young Neurosurgeons
AANS Neurosurgical Top Gun Competition

The American Association of Neurological Surgeons (AANS) Neurosurgical Top Gun Competition began in 2006 as a project of the AANS Young Neurosurgeons Committee, under the initial guidance of Michael Oh, MD, FAANS. Each year the competition and stations have evolved. The competition is sponsored by exhibitors and any unspent funds are donated to the Neurosurgical Research and Education Foundation (NREF).

2014 AANS Neurosurgical Top Gun

The 2014 Neurosurgical Top Gun Competition drew medical students, residents and interns from around the world to participate in simulation sessions. Below is a list of the competition winners:

Top Honors – 2014 Neurosurgical Top Gun
Chine Logan, DO
Virginia Tech Carilion School of Medicine (2008-2014)

Lumbar Pedicle Screw
Chine Logan, DO
Virginia Tech Carilion School of Medicine (2008-2014)

Trigeminal Rhizotomy
Eric Sribnick, MD
Emory University (2008-2014)

Endovascular Simulator
Shaheryar Ansari, MD
Indiana University School of Medicine (2013-2018)

Tene Cage, MD
University of California San Francisco (201-2016)

For the first time, the 2014 Neurosurgical Top Gun competition included a head-to-head match-up, pitting teams of residents from three of the highest-performing neurosurgical training programs in a winner-takes-all competition to decide once and for all whose program is the strongest. This year, based on aggregate individual scores collected, the Cleveland Clinic earned the 2014 Overall Residency Program Top Gun Award.

Cleveland Clinic represented by:
Andrew Healy, MD (2010-2016)
Sumeet Vadera, MD (2008-2014)
Kevin Michael Walsh, MD (2011-2017)

Supported by:
Immersive Touch
MicroVention, Inc.
University of Florida

Click here to learn more about the 2015 Top Gun Competition and to register for the 2015 AANS Annual Scientific Meeting.

Click on the logo below from each year to read more about the competition from that year.

Click here to book housing for the 2015 AANS Annual Scientific Meeting! Click here to submit your abstracts!