Plenary Session II

Tuesday, April 28 | 9:30 am - 1:00 pm |

Moderator(s): Richard W. Byrne, MD, FAANS; Christopher I. Shaffrey, MD, FAANS

9:35 am - 9:44 am

Historical Film: Title TBA

Historical Film

10:18 am - 10:21 am

Washington Committee Update

Ann R. Stroink, MD, FAANS

10:31 am - 10:32 am

Statistical Discussant

Frederick G. Barker II, MD, FAANS

10:45 am - 10:46 am

Statistical Discussant

Frederick G. Barker II, MD, FAANS

10:50 am - 10:59 am

414. Prospective Randomized Trial Of Temporary Inferior Vena Cava Filter in Thrombophillic Patients That Had Cranial or Spinal Surgery

Scott A. Shapiro, MD, FAANS

11:00 am - 11:01 am

Statistical Discussant

Frederick G. Barker II, MD, FAANS

11:02 am - 11:04 am


Allan D. Levi, MD, PhD, FAANS

11:05 am - 11:14 am

415. Early Results From The Multi-Center Prospective, Randomized CSM-S Study: Overall Quality Of Life Improvement, Complications, And Heath Resource Utilization

Zoher Ghogawala, MD, FAANS

11:15 am - 11:18 am


Vincent C. Traynelis, MD, FAANS

11:19 am - 11:22 am

CNS Update

Steven N. Kalkanis, MD, FAANS

11:26 am - 11:27 am

International Lifetime Recognition Award

Basant Kumar Misra, MCh MS (India)

Basant Kumar Misra, MCh MS

Dr. Basant Kumar Misra is head of the department of neurosrugery and gamma knife radiosurgery as well as chief of surgery at P. D. Hinduja Hospital and MRC in Mumbai, India. Previously, Dr. Misra was Clinical Professor in the department of neurosurgery at Macquarie University in Australia. Dr. Misra has many 'firsts' credited to him. He was the first in South Asia to perform Gamma knife radiosurgery, was the first surgeon in the world to perform computer-guided aneurysm surgery and the first in India to perform an awake craniotomy.

Dr. Misra's expertise in neurosurgical patient care includes acoustic neuroma surgery, vascular neurosurgery, skull base surgery, pituitary surgery, Gamma knife radiosurgery, awake craniotomy, minimally invasive neurosurgery and complex brain and spine disorder.

11:28 am - 11:37 am

AANS Featured Speaker: International Lifetime Recognition Award Winner

Basant Kumar Misra, MCh MS (India)

11:38 am - 11:47 pm

416. A Transcriptomic Map of Pediatric Brain Tumors

Akshitkumar Maheshbhai Mistry, MD

11:48 am - 11:49 am

Statistical Discussant

Frederick G. Barker II, MD, FAANS

11:53 am - 12:02 pm

417. B-cell Lymphoma 2 (BCL2) Single Nucleotide Polymorphism (rs17759659) Is Associated With Intracranial Hypertension In A Prospective Cohort Of Severe Traumatic Brain Injury

Hansen Deng, MD

12:06 pm - 12:09 pm

ASR Update

Anthony L. Asher, MD, FAANS

12:13 pm - 12:15 pm

Cushing Medalist

H. Hunt Batjer, MD, FAANS

H. Hunt Batjer, MD, FAANS

Dr. Hunt Batjer is the Lois C.A. and Darwin E. Smith distinguished chair in neurological surgery and chair of the department of neurological surgery at the University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center. He is recognized internationally as a leading cerebrovascular surgeon. Dr. Batjer has had numerous roles in organized medicine, including past president of the AANS and past chair of the AANS/CNS Cerebrovascular Section. He is also a past director and past chair of the American Board of Neurological Surgery and co-chair of the NFL Committee on Head, Neck and Spine Injuries. In 2016, Dr. Batjer was nominated by the Council of Medical Specialty Societies to serve on the Board of Directors of The Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME) and he was elected to the Executive Committee of the ACGME’s Board of Directors in 2019. His academic pursuits and research in ischemic and hemorrhagic stroke have resulted in 462 peer-reviewed publications and nine books.

12:59 pm - 1:00 pm

Introduction to the Lunch and Learns

Richard W. Byrne, MD, FAANS