AANS Award Winners
The American Association of Neurological Surgeons (AANS) will be presenting several major awards during the 2017 AANS Annual Scientific Meeting.
AANS International Lifetime Recognition Award
J. Andre Grotenhuis, MD, PhD, IFAANS
The AANS International Lifetime Service Award recognizes an international neurosurgeon or other international dignitary for his or her lifetime of contributions to advancing the field of neurosurgery in a country outside the United States and Canada.
AANS Distinguished Service Award
Volker K. H. Sonntag, MD, FAANS(L)
The Distinguished Service Award is one of the highest honors bestowed by the American Association of Neurological Surgeons, recognizing exemplary service to the AANS and the field of neurosurgery. The award pays tribute to the contributions of remarkable people within their profession.
AANS Humanitarian Award
John Ragheb, MD, FAANS
Since January 1987, the AANS has conferred its Humanitarian Award to members who have given their time and talents to a charitable or public activity and whose actions have brought honor to the neurosurgical specialty.
AANS Cushing Medal
Robert F. Spetzler, MD, FAANS
The Harvey Cushing Medal, the highest honor the AANS can bestow on a member, was established in 1976. Given annually, the award recognizes AANS members for distinguished service and accomplishments in the field of neurosurgery. The Board of Directors selects the recipient upon the recommendation of the Awards and Honors Committee in recognition of his or her extraordinary efforts to advance the field of neurosurgery.
AANS Cushing Award for Technical Excellence and Innovation in Neurosurgery
Fady T. Charbel, MD, FAANS
The Cushing Award for Technical Excellence and Innovation in Neurosurgery was established in 2013 to honor an AANS member for technical prowess and skill and/or innovation in the development of new procedures which have become part of the arsenal neurosurgeons use to treat disease or trauma.
Abstract Award Winners
Abstract Award
Award Recipient
DePuy Synthes Award
Fawaz Al-Mufti, MD
Vesalius Award
Michael Bohl, MD
Best International Abstract Award
Edgar M. Carrasco, MD, IFAANS
AANS International Travel Scholarship
Edgar M. Carrasco, MD, IFAANS
ThinkFirst Injury Prevention Award
Brian D. Sindelar, MD
William H. Sweet Young Investigator Award
Vijay Yanamadala, MD
Hydrocephalus Association Award
Jonathan Jay Stone, MD
Kenneth Shulman Award
David Penn, MD
Byron Cone Pevehouse Young Neurosurgeons Award
Melanie Hayden Gephart, MD
Robert Florin Award
Michael Bohl, MD
Sanford J. Larson, MD, PhD Award
Daipayan Guha, MD
Stewart B. Dunsker, MD Award
Karthik Madhavan, MD
Philip L. Gildenberg MD Resident Award
Sarah Kathleen Bourne Bick, MD
Integra Foundation Award
Mark William Youngblood
American Brain Tumor Association Young Investigator Award
Anthony Chin-Hsiu Wang, MD
Synthes Skull Base Award
John Y.K. Lee, MD, FAANS
Leksell Radiosurgery Award
Jason P. Sheehan, MD, PhD, FAANS
Brainlab Neurosurgery Award
Sandro Krieg, MD
Brian D. Silber Award
Richard Everson
Columbia Softball Charity Award
Eric M. Thompson, MD
Mahaley Clinical Award
Matthew Clark Garrett, MD, PhD
Journal on Neuro-Oncology Award sponsored by Kluwer Academic Publishers
Doris Du Wang, MD
Preuss Award
Javier Figueroa, MD
Ronald L. Bittner Award on Brain Tumor Research
Ananth Kesav Vellimana, MD
Stryker Neuro-Oncology Award
Arman Jahangiri
Louise Eisenhardt Travel Scholarship
Jaclyn Janine Renfrow, MD
Young Neurosurgeons Abstract Award
Frank Joseph Attenello III, MD