Hosted immediately prior to the 2019 AANS Annual Scientific Meeting


State-of-the-art in Complex Spine Surgery


Course Date & Location

April 11-12, 2019

San Diego Convention Center
Ballroom 20A, Upper Level

Course Directors

Gregory R. Trost, MD, FAANS, University of Wisconsin - Madison
Michael P. Steinmetz, MD, FAANS, Cleveland Clinic Foundation

Honored Guest

Edward C. Benzel, MD, FAANS, Cleveland Clinic Foundation

Course Description

The Benzel Symposium will honor the career of Dr. Edward C. Benzel, a true luminary of neurosurgery. This symposium features lectures and discussions led by internationally renowned orthopaedists and neurosurgeons specializing in surgery of the spine. The content of this once-in-a-lifetime event promises to be informative, lively and provocative. A cocktail reception will be held on Thursday, with a gala dinner and roast the following night. The Benzel Symposium Gala promises to be one of the premier events of the entire meeting.

Symposium Sessions

  • Session 1: Keynote Presentation
  • Session 2: Deformity
  • Session 3: Tumor
  • Session 4: Minimally Invasive Surgery
  • Session 5: Trauma/Degenerative Disease
  • Session 6: Keynote Presentation
  • Session 7: Cervical Spine and OC Junction
  • Session 8: Leadership/Clinical Trials

Learning Objectives

After completing this educational activity, participants should be able to:

  • Discuss the development, current practice and future trends in minimally invasive spinal surgery.
  • Apply measured spinal parameters in the treatment of all spinal diseases.
  • Identify the role of leadership and mentorship in spinal surgery.
  • Utilize evidence-based medicine in the treatment of spinal disorders.


Earn up to 15.25 AMA PRA Category 1 CreditsTM.

The AANS is accredited by the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME) to provide continuing medical education for physicians.

Registration Rates


AANS Members




Member Resident/Nurse/PA


Non-member Resident/Nurse/PA


Exhibitor Badge (Additional)


Gala Dinner Roast at the Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina

$200 per person


Requests for cancellation of meeting and/or guest registrations and all ticketed events must be received in writing at the AANS no later than March 18, 2019, in order to receive a full refund less $50 processing fee. Requests for cancellation received between March 19, 2019, and April 4, 2019, will be charged a $100 processing fee. No refunds will be made on or after April 5, 2019. Cancellation request may be faxed to 708.344.4444 or mailed to AANS Registration Department, c/o CompuSystems, 2651 Warrenville Rd., Suite 400, Downers Grove, IL 60515 or emailed to

Faculty (Speakers/Moderators) as of 1/15/19

Todd Albert, MD Christopher Pearson Ames, MD, FAANS
Lilyana Angelov, MD, FAANS Nevan G. Baldwin, MD, FAANS
Perry A. Ball, MD, FAANS Edward C. Benzel, MD, FAANS
Sigurd Berven, MD Mark H. Bilsky, MD, FAANS
Nathaniel P. Brooks, MD, FAANS John R. Caruso, MD, FAANS
Jens Chapman, MD Timothy I. Cohen, MD, FAANS
Eldan B. Eichbaum, MD, FAANS Richard G. Fessler, MD, PhD, FAANS
Kevin T. Foley, MD, FAANS Steven Garfin, MD
John W. German, MD, FAANS Zoher Ghogawala, MD, FAANS
Atul Goel, MD, IFAANS Ziya L. Gokaslan, MD, FAANS
Ghaith Habboub, MD Regis W. Haid, Jr., MD, FAANS
James S. Harrop, MD, FAANS Lee S. Hwang, MD
G. Alexander Jones, MD, FAANS Iain H. Kalfas, MD, FAANS
William Joseph Kemp, MD Matthew B. Kern, MD, FAANS
A. Jay Khanna, MD John Joseph Knightly, MD, FAANS
Tyler Robert Koski, MD, FAANS Ajit A. Krishnaney, MD, FAANS
Lawrence G. Lenke, MD Thomas E. Mroz, MD
Jeffrey Paul Mullin, MD Praveen V. Mummaneni, MD, FAANS
Hiroshi Nakagawa, MD, IFAANS R. Douglas Orr, MD, FRCSC
Balint Otvos, MD Dominic Pelle, MD
Paulo Pereira, MD, PhD David W. Polly Jr., MD
Sharad Rajpal, MD, FAANS Daniel K. Resnick, MD, FAANS
Laurence D. Rhines, MD, FAANS Abdelfatah Saoud, MD, PhD
Jason Savage, MD Richard P. Schlenk, MD, FAANS
Daniel M. Sciubba, MD, FAANS Christopher I. Shaffrey, MD, FAANS
Salman Y. Sharif, MD, IFAANS John H. Shin, MD, FAANS
Volker K. H. Sonntag, MD, FAANS(L) Michael Patrick Steinmetz, MD, FAANS
Charles B. Stillerman, MD, FAANS Suzanne Audrey Tharin, MD, FAANS
Vincent C. Traynelis, MD, FAANS Gregory R. Trost, MD, FAANS
Eve C. Tsai, MD, PhD, FAANS Juan Santiago Uribe, MD, FAANS
Andrew E. Wakefield, MD, FAANS Michael Y. Wang, MD, FAANS
Eric J. Woodard, MD, FAANS Mehmet Zileli, MD, IFAANS