Hosted immediately prior to the 2019 AANS Annual Scientific Meeting


Mastery and Legacy in Neuroanatomy and the Surgery of Cerebrovascular Lesions, Complex Brain Tumors and Epilepsy


Course Date & Location

April 11-12, 2019
Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina, San Diego, CA

Course Directors

Jacques J. Morcos, MD, FAANS, University of Miami (USA)
Ali F. Krisht, MD, FAANS, CHI St. Vincent Arkansas Neuroscience Institute (USA)

Organizing Committee

Kenan Arnautovic, MD, PhD, FAANS (USA)
Adam S. Arthur, MD, MPH, FAANS (USA)
Frederick G. Barker II, MD, FAANS (USA)
Ricardo A. Hanel, MD, PhD (USA)
Alexander A. Khalessi, MD, FAANS (USA)
Jorge M. Mura, MD, IFAANS (Chile)
Pablo Rubino, MD (Argentina)
Rabih G. Tawk, MD, FAANS (USA)
Claudio G. Yampolsky, MD, IFAANS, FLANC President (Argentina)

Course Description

The Evandro de Oliveira Symposium honors and celebrates the career and legacy of Evandro de Oliveira, MD, PhD, IFAANS, one of the international leaders of intracranial surgery. The invited faculty is an international cadre of masters who will lead lectures, debates, expert panels and audience participation. This educational format, structured around neurosurgical themes to which Dr. de Oliveira dedicated his entire professional career, is an international first and will never be repeated.

Learning Objectives

Upon completion of this CME activity, learners should be able to:

  • Identify the correlates of achieving mastery in surgery.
  • Discuss the detailed anatomy of the brain.
  • Apply different surgical techniques in the management of complex cerebrovascular lesions.
  • Utilize different surgical approaches and detailed fiber tract anatomy to achieve superior results with the resection of complex and deep tumors and the surgery for epilepsy.

The AANS is accredited by the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME) to provide continuing medical education for physicians. The AANS designates this live activity for a maximum of 14.25 AMA PRA Category 1 Credits™. Physicians should claim only the credit commensurate with the extent of their participation in the activity.

Registration Rates


AANS Neurosurgeon Member, Brazilian Neurosurgeons and FLANC Members


Other Non-Member Neurosurgeon


AANS Resident/Nurse/Physician Assistant Member/Trainees from Brazil or FLANC


Resident/Nurse/Physician Assistant Non-Member


Optional Thursday Night Gala Dinner


Faculty (Speakers/Moderators)

Jacques J. Morcos, MD, FAANSUSA+
Ali F. Krisht, MD, FAANSUSA+
Ossama Al-Mefty, MD, FAANSUSA
Carlos M. G. Alegria, MDPortugal
Joao Paulo Almeida, MDBrazil
Apio Claudio Antunes, MD, PhD, IFAANSBrazil
Kenan Arnautovic, MD, PhD, FAANSUSA*
Miguel A. Arraez Sanchez, MDSpain
Adam S. Arthur, MD, MPH, FAANSUSA*
Antonio Aversa de Souto, MDBrazil
Mohammad Ali Aziz-Sultan, MD, FAANSUSA
Matteo Baccanelli, MDArgentina
Frederick G. Barker II, MD, FAANSUSA*
Mustafa Kemal Baskaya, MD, FAANSUSA
Bernard R. Bendok, MD, FAANSUSA
Mitchel S. Berger, MD, FAANSUSA
Luis Alencar Borba, MD, IFAANSBrazil
Oliver Bozinov, MD, IFAANSSwitzerland
Giovanni Broggi, MD, IFAANSItaly
Paul J. Camarata, MD, FAANSUSA
Alberto Carlos Capel Cardoso, MDBrazil
Feres E.A. Chaddad Neto, MD, IFAANSBrazil
Fady T. Charbel, MD, FAANSUSA
Benedicto Oscar Colli, MD, IFAANSBrazil
Manuel F. E. Cunha e Sa, MD, IFAANSPortugal
Valter Da Costa, MD, IFAANSBrazil
Carlos A. David, MD, FAANSUSA
Arthur L. Day, MD, FAANSUSA
Joao Paulo de Almeida, MDBrazil
Antonio Cesar de Melo Mussi, MDBrazil*
Jean Goncalves de Oliveira, MD, PhD, IFAANSBrazil
Roberto Delfini, MDItaly
Vinko V. Dolenc, MD, PhDSlovenia
Juan Carlos Fernandez-Miranda, MD, IFAANSUSA
Eberval Gadelha Figueiredo, MDBrazil
Fred Gentili, MD, MSc, FRCSCanada
Steven L. Giannotta, MD, FAANSUSA
Atul Goel, MD, IFAANSIndia
Francisco Gonzalez-Llanos, MDSpain
Jorge Alvaro Gonzalez-Martinez, MD, PhD, FAANSUSA
Gerardo Guinto-Balanzar, MD, FAANSMexico
Sebastiao Gusmao, MDBrazil
Ricardo Hanel, MD, PhDUSA*
Juha Hernesniemi, MD, PhDChina
Roberto C. Heros, MD, FAANS(L)USA
Vanessa Milanesi Holanda, MD, MSBrazil
Sanford PC Hsu, MDTaiwan
Wen Hung Tzu, MDBrazil
Jafar Jewad Jafar, MD, FAANSUSA
Takeshi Kawase, MDJapan
Alexander Arash Khalessi, MD, FAANSUSA*
Shigeaki Kobayashi, MD, PhDJapan
Niklaus Krayenbuhl, MD, IFAANSSwitzerland
Jose Alberto Landeiro, MDBrazil
David J. Langer, MD, FAANSUSA
Giuseppe Lanzino, MD, FAANSUSA
Edward R. Laws Jr., MD, FAANS(L)USA
Michael T. Lawton, MD, FAANSUSA
Carolina Martins, MD, PhDBrazil
Toshio Matsushima, MDJapan
Cameron G. McDougall, MD, FAANSUSA
Fredric B. Meyer, MD, FAANSUSA
Michael K. Morgan, MD, IFAANSAustralia
Jorge Marcelo Mura, MD, IFAANSChile*
Edgar Nathal, MDMexico
Eliseu Paglioli Neto, MDBrazil
Mateus Reghin Neto, MDBrazil
Mika Niemela, MD, PhD, IFAANSFinland
Thomas C. Origitano, MD, PhD, FAANSUSA
Paulo Henrique Pires de Aguiar, MD, PhD, IFAANSBrazil
Daniel Prevedello, MDUSA
Vicent Quilis Quesada, MD, PhDSpain
Alfredo Quinones-Hinojosa, MD, FAANSUSA
Jair L. Raso, MDBrazil
Luca Regli, MD, IFAANSSwitzerland
Guilherme C. Ribas, MDBrazil
Pablo Augusto Rubino, MDArgentina*
James T. Rutka, MD, PhD, FAANSCanada
Raymond Sawaya, MD, FAANSUSA
Laligam N. Sekhar, MD, FAANSUSA
Eduardo R. Seoane, MDArgentina
Robert A. Solomon, MD, FAANSUSA
Jeffrey M. Sorenson, MD, FAANSUSA
Edgardo Spagnuolo, MDUruguay
Robert F. Spetzler, MD, FAANSUSA
Rokuya Tanikawa, MDJapan
Rabih G. Tawk, MD, FAANSUSA*
Helder Tedeschi, MDBrazil
B. Gregory Thompson Jr., MD, FAANSUSA
Ugur Ture, MD, IFAANSTurkey
Claudio G. Yampolsky, MD, IFAANS, FLANC PresidentArgentina*
A. Samy Youssef, MD, PhD, FAANSUSA
Graciela N. Zuccaro, MD, IFAANSArgentina

+ Course Director, * Organizing Committee