Skip to Main Content

Young Neurosurgeons Committee

The Young Neurosurgeons Committee (YNC) provides representatives to the AANS leadership. They develop the future leaders of neurosurgery and provide a channel for young neurosurgeons to impact the direction of the specialty.

An individual can be nominated to the YNC by any AANS member. A call for nominations goes out each summer. To be eligible, the nominee must still be in training, under 40 years of age or not yet board certified. Elections happen before the end of August with AANS voters who are also under 40 years of age.


Read the current YNC newsletter for committee updates, book reviews, interviews, advice and more.

The YNC meets the Monday of the AANS and Congress of Neurological Surgeons (CNS) meetings. All are welcome to attend this meeting, including medical students.

Started by the YNC in 2006, neurosurgical trainees compete across several surgical simulations for the top prize.


This citation recognizes and honors the extraordinary efforts of a young neurosurgeon who, outside the traditional art and science of neurosurgery, has served the public in an exemplary fashion.

Follow the YNC on Twitter @YoungNeuros for news and updates on committee activities.

Find opportunities to become more involved in the AANS, NREF, NeuroPoint and AANS/CNS Sections.


In addition to the above charges and goals, the YNC manages:

  • The Medical Student Task Force
  • AANS Annual Meeting Functions
  • Young Neurosurgeons Luncheon
  • AANS Marshals Subcommittee
  • Contributions to AANS Neurosurgeon and Neurosurgery Blog
  • Delegation to AANS committees, AANS/CNS Sections, the Council of State Neurological Societies(CSNS), Jt. Guidelines Committee and the Washington Committee
  • Contributions and guidance to
  • Publish the Young Neurosurgeons News
Jeremiah Nicholas Johnson MD, FAANS Chair
David Lee Dornbos III, MD Vice Chair
Walavan Sivakumar MD Secretary
Owoicho Adogwa MD, MPH Member
Nitin Agarwal MD Member
Hanna N. Algattas MD Member
Frank Joseph Attenello III, MD Member
Ariana Simone Barkley MD Member
Joel Beckett MD Member
Ankush Chandra MD, MS Member
Tsinsue Chen MD Member
Aurora S. Cruz MD Member
Randy D'Amico MD Member
Jasmine DiCesare MD Member
Christopher Salvatore Graffeo MD Member
Allen L. Ho MD Member
Lee S. Hwang MD Member
Michael Chuwei Jin Member
Benjamin C. Kennedy MD Member
Robert Koffie MD Member
Jay I. Kumar MD, MBA Member
Michael Robert Levitt MD, FAANS Member
Michelle Lin MD Member
Evan Luther MD Member
Karthik Madhavan MD Member
Neil Majmundar MD Member
Michael M. McDowell MD Member
Laura McGuire MD Member
Michael Mooney MD Member
Debraj Mukherjee MD Member
Joshua William Osbun MD, FAANS Member
Jonathan Pace MD Member
Nitesh Vijay Patel MD Member
Sophie Peeters MD Member
Brenton Henry Pennicooke MD Member
Carolyn Sue Quinsey MD Member
Shervin Rahimpour MD Member
Angela Richardson MD Member
Yamaan S Saadeh MD Member
Visish M Srinivasan MD Member
Daniel A. Tonetti MD Member
Jay D. Turner MD, PhD Member
Kwanza Tamu Warren Member
Jacky Yeung MD Member
James Seungwon Yoon Member
Neil Almeida Ex-Officio
Virginia Costello Staff Liaison
Neil Almeida Award Recipient
Sakibul Huq Award Recipient