Skip to Main Content

MyAANS, password-protected resources, and purchases are currently experiencing issues and are unavailable. We are working to get this fixed as soon as possible.

YNC Public Service Citation

In 2001, the AANS Board of Directors established a Young Neurosurgeons Committee Public Service Citation. This citation recognizes and honors the extraordinary efforts of a young neurosurgeon who, outside the traditional art and science of neurosurgery, has served the public in an exemplary fashion and thereby brings both greater benefit to mankind and greater honor to our specialty. The citation will be presented annually to an individual actively engaged in neurosurgery training or practice. The nominee must not be more than seven years out of neurosurgery training. The citation is for extraordinary or unusual public service by a young neurosurgeon – outside of any service specific to organized neurosurgery. Suitable nominees may serve the public through various means including, but not limited to, public charities, medical or socioeconomic mission work and governmental or legislative efforts. The citation is presented at the Young Neurosurgeons’ Luncheon held during the AANS Annual Scientific Meeting.

The 2022 Citation will be presented at the YNC Luncheon at the 2022 AANS Annual Scientific Meeting in Philadelphia, PA.
Nominations to identify suitable candidates should include the following:

  1. Nominee name, address and email
  2. Year of completion, or anticipated completion, of neurosurgery training
  3. Submission of a nomination letter (250-500 words) detailing the nominee's recent and relevant history of public service; descriptive articles or other relevant material can also be submitted
  4. Name, address and email of who is submitting the nomination

Deadline for submission is March 20, 2022 and should be submitted here.
If you have any questions, e-mail Ginny Costello at


Past awardees for the YNC Public Service Citation, by year:

Year Awardee
2021 Edjah Nduom He recognized an important advocacy role for physicians at the intersection of health and criminal justice. He went on to found Physicians for Criminal Justice Reform, Inc. now a non-profit 501c3, with national membership representing over 70+ professions and medical specialties.
2020 NA
2019 Carolyn Sue Quinsey For her work in establishing a neurosurgery residency program in Malawi
2018 William R. Copeland Recognizing his work in Kenya to create a neurosurgical residency in an effort to establish excellent healthcare and a new standard of surgery in that country
2017 Manish N. Shah For his work with the children of Haiti through Project Medishare
2016 Malcolm D. Eggart For his work to improve long term care and outcomes for at-risk populations in developing countries
2015 Paul Kalanithi For insight and wisdom shared during his fatal illness
2014 Randy S. Bell For service to his nation and his commitment to neurosurgical education
2013 Anthony C. Wang For his dedication to humanitarian and volunteer projects in the US and abroad
2012 David Limbrick For neurosurgical humanitarian relief efforts for pediatric patients in Haiti
2011 Robert G. Louis For his neurosurgical humanitarian relief efforts in Tanzania
2010 Stacey C. Quintero Wolfe For her medical mission leadership and volunteer humanitarian activities
2009 Ashwin Viswanathan For his service to training residents and providing neurosurgical care to patients in underserved areas of the world
2008 Alfredo Quinones-Hinojosa Who has enriched the world of neurosurgery by serving as an inspiration and role model to all students and residents
2007 Sarah Woodrow For her work in bringing advanced neurosurgical care to the underserved community of Addis Ababa, Ethiopia, and for her humanitarian endeavors in their local orphanage
2006 Mark R. McLaughlin For his efforts in facilitating funding, housing, accommodations and training for Russian neurosurgeons in various centers in the U.S.
2005 Rocco A. Armonda For his extraordinary public service during his tour of duty as the Commander of the 207th Neurosurgical Team in Iraq
2004 Rahul Jandial For establishing the International Neurosurgical Children’s Association with the purpose of providing international hospitals with needed equipment and staff training
2003 Daniel F. Kelly For meritorious service in promoting and culturing international cooperation with the Foundation for International Education in Neurological Surgery (FIENS) and Foundation for International Neurosurgical Development (FIND).
2002 Nicholas Boulis For his efforts in bringing neurosurgical care to Guatemala
2001 Carl Lauryssen For development of a neurosurgical medical mission in Nairobi

Young Neurosurgeons Committee