Congress of the United States House of Representatives

Washington, DC 20515

December 15, 2022

The Honorable Nancy Pelosi Speaker of the House U.S. House of Representatives H-232, The U.S. Capitol Washington, D.C. 20515 The Honorable Kevin McCarthy Republican Leader U.S. House of Representatives H-204, The U.S. Capitol Washington, D.C. 20515

Dear Speaker Pelosi and Leader McCarthy,

We write to request your support for policies to address impending Medicare payment cuts in legislation moving through the U.S. House of Representatives before the end of the year. We offer our assistance in finding a solution in order to ensure continued and robust access to care for American seniors.

Health care providers are facing unprecedented burnout and turnover emerging from the COVID-19 pandemic, a major concern of the U.S. Surgeon General, Dr. Vivek Murthy. We are concerned that severe, impending reductions to Medicare payments will result in hiring freezes, elimination of services provided to seniors, and decreased patient access to health care services, especially following a year of record high inflation.

We are particularly concerned about the impact of Medicare cuts in rural and underserved communities. With an ongoing health care workforce shortage, American communities cannot afford to experience practice closures. Uncertain payment rates will only lead to physicians closing their doors and enhance the existing barriers to care these patients already face, exacerbating poorer quality of life for seniors.

We appreciate the work Congress has historically done to alleviate payment cuts for providers and recognize that Congress must again act before the end of the year to address looming cuts.

We look forward to working with you on both responsible short-term payment solutions and long-term improvements. Attention to overarching payment reforms will be essential in fulfilling Medicare's promise to current seniors and future generations. Policies that address physician payment stability in the immediate future and beyond will be critical to the continued success of the Medicare program.

Thank you for your consideration and for your continued leadership.

Sincerely,

history abingon

Michael C. Burgess, M.D. Member of Congress

Un M.D.

Andy Harris, M.D. Member of Congress

Sail I Bully Carta

Earl L. "Buddy" Carter Member of Congress

Jefferson Van Drew, D.M.D. Member of Congress

Brian Babin, D.D.S. Member of Congress

Konny Jachan

Ronny L. Jackson, M.D. Member of Congress

Larry Buckhen

Larry Bucshon, M.D. Member of Congress

Bron R. War

Brad R. Wenstrup, DPM Member of Congress

Diana Hansalarges

Diana Harshbarger Member of Congress

Inal

Neal P. Dunn, M.D. Member of Congress

Mike Simpson Member of Congress

A. Drew Ferguson IV Member of Congress

Sugar J hupping

Gregory F. Murphy, M.D. Member of Congress

Mariannette of Millow Macks

Mariannette J. Miller-Meeks, M.D. Member of Congress

olu ?

John Joyce, M.D. Member of Congress

all Green

Mark E. Green, M.D. Member of Congress

Brian Fitzpatrick Member of Congress

niti

Gus M. Bilirakis Member of Congress

My B.MIC

David McKinley Member of Congress

Clay Higgins Member of Congress

Dan Crenshaw Member of Congress

1 Mur Dol

Paul A. Gosar, D.D.S. Member of Congress

Scott DesJarlais, M.D. Member of Congress

tephanie d. Bice

Stephanie Bice Member of Congress

Fred linte

Fred Upton Member of Congress

Bill Posey Member of Congress

wssmy

Pete Sessions Member of Congress

1 B

Mike Bost Member of Congress

Eric A. "Rick" Crawford Member of Congress

Gnime derrera Beutler

Jaime Herrera Beutler Member of Congress

Randy Feenstra Member of Congress

Long o

Dusty Johnson Member of Congress

John W Rose

John Rose Member of Congress

Greg Pence Member of Congress

Andates

John R. Carter Member of Congress

uliz Retlow

Julia Letlow Member of Congress

Nicole Malliotakis Member of Congress

Michelle Steel Member of Congress

ade Sugma

Jack Bergman Member of Congress

Kichard Hadson

Richard Hudson Member of Congress

ance Hooden

Lance Gooden Member of Congress

Troy Balderson Member of Congress

Tayna Un

Mayra Flores Member of Congress

Glenn "GT" Thompson Member of Congress

Debbie Lesko Member of Congress

Robert S. Anto

Robert E. Latta Member of Congress

Kelly Armstrong Member of Congress

tustin Scott

Austin Scott Member of Congress

Lloyd Smucker Member of Congress

Michael Guest Member of Congress

Pat Fallon Member of Congress

David G. Valadao Member of Congress

6 cittu

John H. Rutherford Member of Congress

fin Walberg

Tim Walberg Member of Congress

Mulle

Cliff Bentz Member of Congress

Tim Burchett Member of Congress

tousda Clarles J.

Chuck Fleischmann Member of Congress

Chris Smith Member of Congress

Mike Carey Member of Congress

Doug Lambour

Doug Lamborn Member of Congress

Andy Barr Member of Congress

Young Kim Member of Congress

al I. M. Carl

Michael McCaul Member of Congress

Sam Graves Member of Congress

Blaine Luetkemeyer Member of Congress

maria

John R. Moolenaar Member of Congress

avid Kustob

David Kustoff Member of Congress

Johnson

Bill Johnson Member of Congress

hone I. Amores

Mark Amodei Member of Congress

Kat Cammack Member of Congress

Guy Reschenthaler Member of Congress

ant.

Andrew R. Garbarino Member of Congress

James Comer

James Comer Member of Congress

imen on

Tom Emmer Member of Congress

, alusto

Jay Obernolte Member of Congress

the

Rick W. Allen Member of Congress

Jake LaTurner Member of Congress

Trent Kelly Member of Congress

Michael Waltz Member of Congress

Dan Meuser Member of Congress

Ron Estes

Ron Estes Member of Congress

roe D. miller

Carol D. Miller Member of Congress

Jenniffer González-Colón Member of Congress