2012 AANS Annual Report - page 23

Medical Student Summer Research Fellowship
The AANS, through the NREF, is pleased to support the Medical
Student Summer Research Fellows. The Fellowship Program, now in its
fifth year, is designed to increase neurosurgical curriculum to first- and
second-year medical students — hopefully encouraging them to elect
neurosurgery when deciding on their residency training. The Fellowship
is open to medical students in the U.S. or Canada who have completed
one or two years of medical school and wish to spend a summer
working in a neurosurgical laboratory, mentored by a neurosurgical
investigator who is a member of the AANS and will serve as sponsor to
the student. For 2012, the AANS has increased its award total to $2,500
and will support 20 fellows. Applications for the 2013 cycle will be
available in fall 2012. The 2012 Fellowship awardees are:
Siri Sahib S. Khalsa — The George Washington University
Abdullah Feroze — Stanford University School of Medicine
Pete Pow-anpongkul — The Ohio State University College of Medicine
Sattar Khoshkhoo — University of California, San Francisco
Winward Choy — University of California, Los Angeles
Adam Pampori — The University of Maryland
Shanna Fang — Mayo Medical School
Matthew Pease — University of Southern California
Ramin Morshed — The University of Chicago
Christina Huang — Pennsylvania State University
Kunal Patel — Cornell University
Sean Childs — University of Rochester
Samuel Clarke — Columbia University
Farshad Nassiri — University of Toronto
Yizheng He — Washington University
Benjamin Lu — New York University
Bharat Kilaru — Vanderbilt University
Yoshito Kosai — Case Western Reserve University
Kendall McEachron — University of Minnesota
Pouya Jamshidi — University of California, San Diego
2011 Best Abstract Awardee at 2012 AANS Annual Scientific Meeting
Raanan Alter, BA — Boston University School of Medicine,
Response Modifiers for Glioblastoma and other CNS Tumors
William P. Van Wagenen Fellowship
The William P. Van Wagenen Fellowship was established by the estate
of Dr. William P. Van Wagenen, who was one of the founders of the
Harvey Cushing Society (now the AANS) and its first President. The
Fellowship was designed to provide freedom in scientific development
without the restrictive limitations usually imposed by many research
grants and fellowships.
Awarded annually since 1968, the Van Wagenen Fellowship is offered
for post-residency study in a foreign country for a period of 12 months.
In 2008, the award stipend was increased from $60,000 to the present
$120,000, with an additional $15,000 awarded to the host university, lab
or program to help defray research, education and investigation costs
for the fellowship.
The recipient of the 2012 Van Wagenen Fellowship was Matthew
Christopher Tate, MD, who completed his residency at the University
of California, San Francisco in June 2012. Dr. Tate’s fellowship will take
him to Montpellier, France, where he will be hosted by the Department
of Neurosurgery at the Hôpital Gui de Chauliac and be part of the
Plasticity of Central Nervous System, Human Stem Cells and Glial
Tumors team at the Institute of Neuroscience of Montepellier, INSERM,
at the Hôpital Saint-Eloi. Under the mentorship of Dr. Hugues Duffau,
Dr. Tate plans to utilize direct cortical stimulation in awake human
patients to both establish a standardized functional atlas of human
brain function and to investigate the functional consequence of brain
plasticity following injury.
“The Van Wagenen Fellowship will provide Dr. Tate with a unique
opportunity to work shoulder to shoulder with a world renowned
neurosurgeon in France, both in the operating room and in the clinic,”
said William F. Chandler, MD, FAANS, FACS, Chairman of the Van
Wagenen Committee and a former Van Wagenen Fellow. “As it did for
me many years ago, the Van Wagenen Fellowship will provide Dr. Tate
with insights into European neurosurgery and a wonderful boost to the
beginning of his academic career.”
Helping Researchers Change the
Game of Neurosurgical Investigation
1...,13,14,15,16,17,18,19,20,21,22 24,25,26,27,28,29,30,31,32,33,...34
Powered by FlippingBook