2012 AANS Annual Report - page 24

Twenty-eight teams of neurosurgeons from top medical institutions
competed on June 9, 2012, in New York City’s Central Park as part of
the 9th Annual Neurosurgery Charity Softball Tournament. Endorsed
by the AANS and hosted by Columbia University, the event benefited
brain tumor research via the AANS’ NREF and the Columbia Brain
Tumor Research Fund.
For 2012, the competing Departments of Neurosurgery were
Columbia University I, Columbia University II, Weill Cornell Medical
College/Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center, New York
University, Albert Einstein College of Medicine, Mount Sinai School
of Medicine, Penn, Harvard University, Thomas Jefferson University,
Dartmouth College, Penn State, Johns Hopkins University, The
University of Alabama, Emory University, University of Florida,
Duke University, University of Miami, Barrow Neurological Institute,
University of Pittsburgh, The University of Utah, University of Toronto,
Northwestern University, University of Colorado-Boulder, Vanderbilt
University, Mayo Clinic, The George Washington University, University
of South Florida and The Ohio State University.
The University of Miami’s Department of Neurological Surgery took
home the championship by beating Barrow Neurological Institute, 5-4,
in the finals. Seth Hayes, MD, of the University of Miami was named the
tournament’s Most Valuable Player.
Thanks to our generous sponsors — Brainlab, Stryker, Medtronic, the
New York Yankees, Baxter, Hitachi Aloka Medical America, Integra
Life Sciences, Johnson & Johnson/Ethicon, Columbia Presbyterian
Eastside Radiology, Subway — and the hundreds of neurosurgeons,
support staff and families who participated in the event.
Putting a Hit on Brain Tumors
A Neurosurgical Research Support Network Unlike Any Other
The NREF Cushing Circle is a cumulative, lifetime and planned/
deferred giving society for neurosurgeons who support the NREF.
The goals of the NREF Cushing Circle include increasing NREF
giving (annual, major and planned gifts), creating an organizational
identity and building camaraderie among philanthropists who
consistently support the NREF. Contributors who have made
significant financial commitments to the NREF and neurosurgical
research are eligible to receive benefits, including special invitations
to AANS Annual Scientific Meeting VIP events; advance notification
on new products, services and educational offerings; and more.
Criteria for individual membership include:
Historical giving total of at least $20,000
Historical giving total of at least $10,000, with a pledge of at least
$10,000 within the next five years (at a minimum rate of $2,000
per year)
Historical giving total of at least $10,000, with a memorandum of
understanding for a willed bequest of at least $50,000
Cushing Circle of Donors
The generosity of the Cushing Circle of Giving members has enabled
the NREF to ensure the future of the neurosurgical specialty by
assisting in its mission of providing a private, non-governmental
source of funding for research training in the neurosciences. The
members of the Cushing Circle of Giving for fiscal year 2012 were:
Merwyn Bagan, MD, MPH, FAANS, FACS, and Mrs. Carol Bagan
Timir Banerjee, MD, FAANS, FACS
Mitchel S. Berger, MD, FAANS, FACS
Charles Branch Jr., MD, FAANS
Mrs. E. Laurie Bittner
Hans C. Coester, MD, FAANS, FACS
Dr. and Mrs. William T. Couldwell
John G. Golfinos, MD, FAANS
Michael Groff, MD, FAANS
Dr. and Mrs. Robert G. Grossman
Dr. and Mrs. Robert L. Grubb Jr.
Dr. and Mrs. John Guarnaschelli
Dr. and Mrs. Regis W. Haid Jr.
Robert E. Harbaugh, MD, FAANS, FACS
Griffith R. Harsh IV, MD, FAANS, and Ms. Margaret C. Whitman
Dr. and Mrs. Robert Levinthal
Paul C. McCormick, MD, MPH, FAANS, FACS
Praveen V. Mummaneni, MD, FAANS
Dr. and Mrs. Herbert Oestreich
Dr. and Mrs. Russel H. Patterson Jr.
Bruce E. Pollock, MD, FAANS
1...,14,15,16,17,18,19,20,21,22,23 25,26,27,28,29,30,31,32,33,...34
Powered by FlippingBook