Previous Page  10 / 54 Next Page
Show Menu
Previous Page 10 / 54 Next Page
Page Background



The AANS continued to further its commitment to

advancing the specialty of neurosurgery around the world

this past year through its collaborations with various

international societies. AANS international initiatives

brought together neurosurgeons from varying neurosurgical

realities to share their research with one another and

consider the possibilities for future collaborations.

A highlight this year was the participation of continental

and regional society leaders in the 2015 AANS Annual

Scientific Meeting in Washington, D.C. Participants



Andrew H. Kaye, MD, IFAANS, Asian Australasian

Society of Neurological Surgeons (AASNS)


A. Graham Fieggen, MD, IFAANS, Continental

Association of African Neurosurgical Societies (CAANS)


J. André Grotenhuis, MD, IFAANS, European

Association of Neurosurgical Societies (EANS)


Edgardo Spagnuolo, MD, Federación Latinoamericana

de Sociedades de Neurocirugía (FLANC)


Amr El Shawarby, MD, Pan Arab Neurosurgical

Society (PANS)

The participation of these leaders in the AANS leadership

meetings and throughout the 83


AANS Annual

Scientific Meeting was valuable and built a strong

foundation moving forward.

This year was characterized by a collaboration between

the AANS and AASNS. The AASNS is comprised of

neurosurgeons from more than 28 societies representing

approximately 60 percent of patients in the world. Many

months of preparation culminated in the 14th Asian

Australasian Congress of Neurological Surgeons on

Jeju Island, South Korea, and the 83


AANS Annual

Scientific Meeting in Washington, D.C. At both meetings,

the societies joined to showcase important thought leaders

and advancements within each society.

A very important component of this collaboration

was AASNS’ 2011-2015 president, Andrew H.

Kaye, MD, who was recognized with the AANS

International Lifetime Recognition Award. The AANS’

most prestigious international award recognizes an

international neurosurgeon or other international

dignitary for his or her lifetime of contributions to

advancing the field of neurosurgery in a country outside

the United States and Canada.

Dr. Kaye is the head of the department of surgery at the

University of Melbourne and director of the department

of neurosurgery at the Royal Melbourne Hospital. He

graduated from The University of Melbourne in 1973

and, subsequently, trained in neurosurgery at The Royal

Melbourne Hospital and The Royal Children’s Hospital

in Melbourne. Dr. Kaye undertook further neurosurgery

training in Oxford, London and at The Cleveland Clinic

in Cleveland. Upon returning to Australia, in 1983, he was

appointed neurosurgeon at The Royal Melbourne Hospital

and began research on neuro-oncology at the Ludwig

Institute for Cancer Research. He was appointed professor

of neurosurgery at The University of Melbourne in 1992,

and the James Stewart Professor of Surgery and head of

the department of surgery at The University of Melbourne,

Royal Melbourne Hospital in 1997. His main clinical and

research interests are neuro-oncology, pituitary tumors and

cerebrovascular disease.

Attendees at the 83


AANS Annual Scientific Meeting

in Washington, D.C., had the opportunity to learn from

their colleague at the International Symposium, along

with thought leaders from 14 other countries, and later

enjoyed a spectacular view of the National Mall at the

International Reception.