Previous Page  11 / 54 Next Page
Show Menu
Previous Page 11 / 54 Next Page
Page Background



In addition to the AANS International Lifetime Recognition

Award, other AANS International Awards included:

Best International Abstract Award:

This honor

is awarded to the author of the highest-ranking

international abstract submitted to the 83



Annual Scientific Meeting. In 2015, this honor went

to Jeffrey V. Rosenfeld, MD, MS, IFAANS, from

Melbourne, Australia, for his abstract,

The Development

of a Wireless Multi-electrode Cortical Prosthesis for

Restoration of Vision in Blind Individuals


International Travel Scholarship:

This scholarship

provides $1,500 to support the attendance of a

neurosurgeon from a developing country to the 83rd

AANS Annual Scientific Meeting. The 2015 recipient

was Dwarakanath Srinivas, MD, from Bangalore, India,

for his abstract,

Differential expression levels of Collagen

1A2, Tissue inhibitor of metalloproteinase 4 and Cathepsin

B in intracranial aneurysms and their clinico-radiological


The AANS also creates fellowship opportunities for

neurosurgeons in developing countries to travel to North

America for educational experiences.

The 2015 recipients of the AANS International Visiting

Surgeon Fellowships:

Bach Xuan Bui,MD, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam:

Dr. Bach visited Indiana University School of Medicine

in Indianapolis under the observation of Aaron Cohen-

Gadol, MD, FAANS. Dr. Bach gained experience with

advanced neurosurgical instruments and operating devices.

He not only wants to share this knowledge with his

colleagues back in Vietnam, but he also wants to share his

observations of strong teamwork and high-quality patient

care that he witnessed during his fellowship.

Mugisha Clement Mazoko, MD, Dar Es Salaam,


Dr. Clement visited the University of

Washington in Seattle and worked under the observation

of Laligam N. Sekhar, MD, FAANS. His main

focus was advanced training in skull base surgery and

cerebrovascular microsurgery. He hopes to share this

training with colleagues in his country and grow the field

of neurosurgery in Tanzania where there are currently

five practicing neurosurgeons serving a population of

more than 40 million.

The AANS also offers a fellowship supporting a

postneurosurgical resident traveling overseas for scientific

enrichment, prior to beginning an academic career in

neurological surgery. The William P. Van Wagenen

Fellowship was designed to give freedom in scientific

development without the restrictions usually imposed by

many research grants and fellowships. Read more about the

Van Wagenen Fellowship on page 27 of this annual report.

Other accomplishments in the advancement of international

initiatives included AANS participation at the following

continental society meetings:


ISMINS 2014 - International Society of Minimally

Invasive Neurosurgery, X’ian, China


EANS 2014 – 15th European Congress of Neurosurgery,



10th Pan Arab Neurosurgical Society Congress, Abu

Dhabi, United Arab Emirates


NSICON 2014 – 63rd Annual Conference of

Neurological Society of India, Coimbatore, India

Additionally, 2014-2015 AANS president, Robert E.

Harbaugh, MD, FAANS, was chosen as the 2014 Dr. Jacob

Chandy Orator by the Neurological Society of India (NSI).

His Chandy Oration was delivered at the NSI meeting, held

December 2014.