Previous Page  9 / 54 Next Page
Show Menu
Previous Page 9 / 54 Next Page
Page Background





AANS Annual Scientific Meeting

Neurosurgical Top Gun Competition

Each year, since 2006, the AANS Neurosurgical Top Gun

Competition has provided a forum for residents and fellows

to test their skills at various surgical simulation stations and

be awarded a score for their efforts. The top scorer at each

station is awarded a cash prize. The participant with the best

overall score receives a cash prize as well as a prize for his or

her residency program.

Top Honors—2015 Neurosurgical Top Gun

Timur Urakov, MD

Jackson Memorial Medical Center

Lumbar Pedicle Screw

Michael Sawvel, DO

Virginia Tech Carilion School of Medicine

Trigeminal Rhizotomy

Timur Urakov, MD

Jackson Memorial Medical Center

Endovascular Simulator

Scott Zuckerman, MD

Vanderbilt University


John F. Morrison, MD

Brown University

Top Medical Student

Aurora S. Cruz

Building on the success of last year, the team competition

continued in 2015, with top honors going to Methodist

Hospital in Houston.

First Place in the Team Competition

Methodist Hospital

Brandon D. Liebelt, MD

Sean Barber, MD

Supported by:

Medtronic, Inc.

Immersive Touch

MicroVention, Inc.

University of Florida