Washington E-Newsletter

CMS Selects Neurosurgeons for MEDCAC

On May 19, CMS appointed three AANS/CNS nominated individuals — Ketan R. Bulsara, MD, FAANS; Joshua M. Rosenow, MD, FAANS and Cheerag D. Upadhyaya, MD, FAANS — to serve on the Medicare Evidence Development and Coverage Advisory Committee (MEDCAC). MEDCAC comprises 100 experts who assist CMS in reviewing and evaluating medical literature, technology assessments and other information to help determine if Medicare should cover medical items and services. Drs. Bulsara, Rosenow and Upadhyaya will serve for a two-year term.