Award Recipients

The AANS presents several major awards each year during the AANS Annual Scientific Meeting, honoring the lifetime contribution of members for their surgical, scientific and humanitarian accomplishments.

Past Recipients of the AANS Cushing Medal

2024      Christopher I. Shaffrey, MD, FAANS

2023      Regis W. Haid, Jr., MD, FAANS

2022      William T. Couldwell, MD, PhD, FAANS

2021      Robert E. Harbaugh, MD, FAANS

2020      H. Hunt Batjer, MD, FAANS(L)

2019      James T. Rutka, MD, PhD, FAANS

2018      James R. Bean, MD, FAANS

2017      Robert F. Spetzler, MD, FAANS

2016      Ralph G. Dacey Jr., MD, FAANS

2015      Arthur L. Day, MD, FAANS

2014      Troy M. Tippett, MD, FAANS(L)

2013      Jon H. Robertson, MD, FAANS

2012      Donald O. Quest, MD, FAANS(L)

2011      A. John Popp, MD, FAANS

2010      Roberto C. Heros, MD, FAANS

2009      Edward H. Oldfield, MD, FAANS

2008      Charles B. Wilson, MD, FAANS

2007      Robert G. Grossman, MD, FAANS

2006      David G. Kline, MD, FAANS

2005      Martin H. Weiss, MD, FAANS

2004      John A. Jane Sr., MD, PhD, FAANS

2003      Stewart B. Dunkser, MD, FAANS

2002      Edward R. Laws Jr., MD, FAANS

2001      Julian T. Hoff, MD

2000      Russell H. Patterson Jr., MD

1999      David J. Kelly Jr., MD, FAANS

1998      Albert L. Rhoton Jr., MD, FAANS

1997      Robert G. Ojemann, MD

1996      Shelley N. Chou, MD, PhD

1995      Richard DeSaussure, MD

1994      Byron C. Pevehouse, MD

1993      Sidney Goldring, MD

1992      W. Eugene Stern, MD

1991      William F. Collins, MD

1990      Robert B. King, MD

1989      Lester A. Mount, MD

1988      Charles G. Drake, MD

1987      William F. Meacham, MD

1986      Lyle French, MD

1985      Francis Murphey, MD

1984      Eben Alexander Jr., MD

1983      Guy L. Odom, MD

1982      W. James Gardner, MD

1981      Bronson S. Ray, MD

1980      Paul C. Bucy, MD

1979      Henry G. Schwartz, MD

1978      William H. Sweet, MD

1977      Frank H. Mayfield, MD

Past Recipients of the AANS Distinguished Service Award

2024      H. Hunt Batjer, MD, FAANS(L)

2023      Edward Laws, MD, FAANS(L)

2022      James T. Rutka, MD, PhD, FAANS

2021      Jon H. Robertson, MD, FAANS

2020      Joseph S. Cheng, MD, MS, FAANS

2019      M. Ross Bullock, MD, PhD

2018      Robert E. Harbaugh, MD, FAANS, FACS

2017      Volker K.H. Sonntag, MD, FAANS(L)

2016      Blas Ezequiel Lopez Felix, MD, FAANS

2015      Kim J. Burchiel, MD, FAANS

2014      Sir Graham Teasdale, FRCP

2013      Ralph G. Dacey Jr., MD, FAANS

2012      James R. Bean, MD, FAANS

2011      Thomas A. Marshall

2010      Katie O. Orrico

2009      In Memory of Samuel J. Hassenbush, MD, PhD

2008      Peter W. Carmel, MD, FAANS

2007      Mary Louise Sanderson

2006      John C. Van Gilder, MD

2005      John A. Kusske, MD, FAANS

2004      Troy M. Tippett, MD, FAANS

2003      John A. Jane Sr., MD, PhD, FAANS

2002      Donald H. Stewart Jr., MD, FAANS

2001      Frank P. Smith, MD

2000      George Ablin, MD

2000      Robert H. Wilkins, MD, FAANS

1999      W. Ben Blackett, MD, JD, FAANS

1998      Mark J. Kubala, MD, FAANS

1997      Ernest W. Mack, MD

1996      Robert E. Florin, MD, FAANS

1995      Charles Edwin Bracket, MD, FAANS

1994      William A. Buchheit, MD, FAANS

1993      Roy W. Black, Codman & Shurtlett, Vice President

Past Recipients of the AANS Humanitarian Award

2024      Jeffrey P. Blount, MD, FAANS

2023      Alexa Canady, MD, FAANS(L)

2022      Rodger Hartl, MD, FAANS

2021      Gail L. Rosseau, MD, FAANS

2020      Laverne Ray Lovell, MD, FAANS

2019      David I. Sandberg, MD, FAANS

2018      Jack P. Rock, MD, FAANS

2017      John Ragheb, MD, FAANS

2016      Karin M. Muraszko, MD, FAANS

2015      Michael M. Haglund, MD, PhD, FAANS

2014      Anselmo Pineda, MD, FAANS(L)

2013      Mark Bernstein, MD, FAANS

2012      A. Leland Albright, MD, FAANS(L)

2011      Barth A. Green, MD

2010      Timr Banerjee, MD, FAANS

2009      Armonando J. Basso, MD, PhD

2008      Robert J. Dempsey, MD, FAANS

2007      Benjamin C. Warf, MD, FAANS

2006      Gene E. Bolles, MD, FAANS

2005      Tetsuo Tatsumi, MD, FAANS

2004      Charles L. Branch Sr., MD,FAANS

2002      Edgar M. Housepian, MD, FAANS

2001      Gary D. Vander Ark, MD, FAANS

2000      Merwyn Bagan, MD, MPH, FAANS

1999      Thomas B. Flynn, MD, FAANS

1998      Lee Finney, MD,

1997      Robert J. White, MD

1995      Melvin L. Cheatham, MD, FAANS

1994      E. Fletcher Eyster, MD, FAANS

1993      Manuel Velasco-Suarez, MD

1992      William H. Mosberg Jr., MD

1991      George B. Udvarhelyi, MD

1990      A. Roy Tyrer Jr., MD

1989      Hugo V. Rizzoli, MD

1988      Gaston Acosta-Rua, MD

1987      Courtland H. Davis Jr., MD, FAANS

Past Recipients of the AANS Cushing Award for Technical Excellence and Innovation in Neurosurgery

2024      Mitchel S. Berger, MD, FAANS

2023      Michael Lawton, MD, FAANS

2022      Christopher I. Shaffrey, MD, FAANS

2021      Robert F. Spetzler, MD, FAANS(L)

2020      Allan H. Friedman, MD, FAANS

2019      Kevin T. Foley, MD, FAANS

2018      John R. Adler, Jr., MD, FAANS

2017      Fady T. Charbel, MD, FAANS

2016      L. Dade Lunsford, MD, FAANS

2015      Ossama Al-Mefty, MD, FAANS

2014      Robert H. Rosenwasser, MD, FAANS

2013      Edward H. Oldfield, MD, FAANS

Past Recipients of the AANS Distinguished Advocate Award

2024      Ann R. Stroink, MD, FAANS

2023      Troy Tippet, MD, FAANS(L)

AANS International Lifetime Recognition Award

2023      Marinus H. Koning, MD, FACS

2022      Asdrubal Falavigna, MD, PhD, IFAANS

2021      Yoko Kato, MD, IFAANS (Japan)

2020      Basant Misra, MCh, MS

2019      Franco Servadei, MD, Italy

2018      Jeffrey V. Rosenfeld, MD, MS, IFAANS, FACS

2017      André Grotenhuis, MD, PhD, IFAANS, from Nijmegen, Netherlands

2016      Edgardo Spagnuolo, MD, from Montevideo Uruguay

2015      Andrew H. Kaye, MD, IFAANS, from Melbourne, Australia

2014      Nicolas de Tribolet, MD, from Geneva, Switzerland

2013      Johannes Schramm, MD, from Bonn, Germany

2012      Leonidas M. Quintana, MD, IFAANS, from Vina del Mar, Chile

2011      Shigeaki Kobayashi, MD, PhD, from Matsumoto, Japan

2010      Shigeaki Kobayashi, MD, PhD, from Matsumoto, Japan

2009      Albino Bricolo, MD, from Verona, Italy

2008      Jose Humberto Mateos Gomez, MD, FAANS(L), from Madrid, Mexico