Washington E-Newsletter

Washington Committee Announces Personnel Changes

Recently, the AANS/CNS Washington Committee announced several personnel changes. CNS-appointee Russell R. Lonser, MD, FAANS, has been selected as the committee’s chair-elect and will become chair of the committee on Jan. 1, 2023. The CNS appointed Clemens M. Schirmer, MD, PhD, to replace Dr. Lonser. The AANS selected Jason M. Schwalb, MD, FAANS, to serve as one of its Washington Committee appointees beginning next year. All three individuals have considerable leadership and experience and will help neurosurgery navigate challenging health policy waters.

After many years of service, William C. Welch, MD, FAANS, chair of the AANS/CNS Drugs and Devices Committee, stepped down as chair. Joshua M. Rosenow, MD, FAANS, will now chair this committee.