Skip to Main Content

MyAANS, password-protected resources, and purchases are currently experiencing issues and are unavailable. We are working to get this fixed as soon as possible.

The NPA Stereotactic Radiosurgery (SRS) Registry Board of Directors

The NeuroPoint Alliance (NPA) Board of Directors is pleased to announce recent appointments to the newly-constituted AANS Stereotactic Radiosurgery (SRS) Registry Board. Jason P. Sheehan, MD, PhD, FAANS, of the University of Virginia Health System and chair of the SRS Registry Board, joins the NPA Board in welcoming these visionary leaders, all of whom have demonstrated a strong commitment to volunteerism and to advancing the NPA's mission to improve the quality of neurosurgical care through its portfolio of registry programs.

  • Inga S. Grills, MD, Oakland University, William Beaumont Hospital, Royal Oak, Mich.
    As a radiation oncologist, Dr. Grills has been an active contributor to the NPA’s SRS registry program since its inception. Dr. Grills is dedicated to the field and utility of radiosurgery and in studying the short- and long-term outcomes for quality patient care. She has substantial experience with database and quality improvement projects through Beaumont Hospital, primarily through her work as a principal investigator with the international lung research group and the Michigan Radiation Oncology Quality Consortium. Dr. Grills also serves as the vice chair of the Lung Scientific Committee of the American Society for Radiation Oncology (ASTRO).

  • James McInerney, MD, FAANS, Penn State University Milton S. Hershey Medical Center, Hershey, Penn.
    Dr. McInerney has served as the director of stereotactic and functional neurosurgery at Penn State University - Milton Hershey Medical Center since 2003 and serves as the neurosurgical director of its Radiosurgery Center. He is co-director of the Movement Disorder Center and is also director of the CAST-certified Stereotactic and Functional Neurosurgery Fellowship. Dr. McInerney serves on the Promotion and Tenure Committee for the department and also is the Department of Neurosurgery’s representative to the Dean’s Physician Advisory Council. He is the co-chair for the Registry for the Advancement of Deep Brain Stimulation in Parkinson’s Disease (RAD-PD); a Board member of the AANS/CNS Section on Stereotactic and Functional Neurosurgery; an ex officio member of the AANS/CNS Cerebrovascular Section Board; and serves as part of the AANS Mentor program. Dr. McInerney's research interests include the development of clinical registries and the basic science of radiosurgery for vascular lesions.

  • Nader Pouratian, MD, PhD, FAANS, Ronald Reagan UCLA Medical Center, Los Angeles
    Dr. Pouratian is in his eighth year as Quality Improvement Officer at UCLA and has served as a course director at national meetings on quality outcomes for patient care. He serves on the executive committees of the Congress of Neurological Surgeons (CNS) and the American Society of Stereotactic and Functional Neurosurgery (ASSFN). He specializes in surgeries to restore and preserve brain function, including deep brain stimulation for movement disorders and other emerging indications as well as surgeries that require brain mapping. In addition, Dr. Pouratian treats peripheral nerve and brachial plexus injuries and tumors. His research focuses on developing novel interventions and technologies for neurological restoration.

  • Ronald E. Warnick, MD, FAANS, Mayfield Clinic, The Jewish Hospital – Mercy Health, Cincinnati
    Dr. Warnick is the co-director of the Gamma Knife Center at The Jewish Hospital – Mercy Health and served as Mayfield Clinic’s chairman 2004-2014. He has been an active principal investigator for the SRS registry since 2015 and has 28 years of experience in stereotactic radiosurgery, reaching a milestone in 2017 of treating 3,000 patients with stereotactic radiosurgery. Dr. Warnick continues to oversee research leading to best practices and improved outcomes in radiosurgery and radiotherapy. He is past chair and member of the Executive Committee of the AANS/CNS Section on Tumors and has served as chair of the AANS Public Relations Committee and the AANS Member Benefit Development Committee.