Skip to Main Content

MyAANS, password-protected resources, and purchases are currently experiencing issues and are unavailable. We are working to get this fixed as soon as possible.

Past Van Wagenen Fellows

Since 1968, more than 50 fellows have pursued research and academic interests in neurosurgery abroad through the Van Wagenen Fellowship. See below for a listing of fellowship awardees for each year and location of their sponsoring institution.

Year Fellow Sponsor Institution(s) Country
2024 Brandon P. Lucke-Wold, MD Fujita Health University Japan
2022 Bhuvic Patel, MD Deutsches Krebsforschungszentrum (DKFZ)/ Universitätsklinikum Heidelberg Germany
2020 Ezequiel D. Goldschmidt, MD, PhD Karolinska Instituet Sweden
2018 Kai Joshua Miller, MD University Medical Center, Utrecht The Netherlands
2017 Darrin J. Lee, MD, PhD University of Toronto Canada
2016 S. Kathleen Bandt, MD Aix-Marseille Universite France
2015 Lisa Anne Feldman, MD University of Auckland New Zealand
2014 Ausaf A. Bari, MD University of Toronto Canada
2013 David Ryan Ormond, MD Rheinische Friedrich Wilhelms Universität Bonn Germany
2012 Matthew Christopher Tate, MD, PhD Hopital Guide Cliauliac; Hopital Saint Eloi France
2011 Nicholas F. Marko, MD University of Cambridge, Department of Applied Mathematics and Theoretical Physics (DAMTP) United Kingdom
2011 Ben Waldau, MD, FAANS University of Dresden (Center for Regenerative Therapies) Germany
2010 Andrew W. Grande, MD Helmholtz Zentrum Munchen Germany
2009 Michael C. Park, MD, PhD Assistance Publique L' Hospital d' Adulte de la Timone France
2008 Samuel H. Cheshier, MD, PhD, FAANS Lund University Sweden
2007 James C. Miller, MD, FAANS University of Tubingen Germany
2006 Yu-Hung Kuo, MD, PhD, FAANS Fliders Medical Centre Australia
2006 Uzma Samadani, MD, PhD, FAANS University of Goettingen Germany
2005 Devin K. Binder, MD PhD FAANS University of Bonn Medical Center Germany
2004 Stephen M. Russell, MD, FAANS Ludwig Maximilians, University of Munich Germany
2003 Odette Althea Harris, MD, MPH, FAANS University Hospital of the West Indies Jamaica
2002 Saadi Ghatan, MD Institute of Child/Health/Great Ormond Street Hospital England
2001 Shekar N. Kurpad, MD, PhD, FAANS Karolinska Institute Sweden
2000 P. Charles Garell, MD, FAANS Centre Hospitalier Universitaire France
1999 Theodore H. Schwartz, MD, FAANS Tobias Bonheoffer Max-Planck Institute for Neurobiology Germany
1998 Kamal Thapar, MD, FAANS University of Erlagen-Nurnberg Germany
1997 Zelma HT Kiss, MD PhD Centre Hospitalier Universitaire de Grenoble France
1996 Howard L. Weiner, MD, FAANS Institut d'Embryologie Cellulaire et Moleculaire France
1995 Timothy C. Ryken, MD, FAANS Cambridge Centre for Brain Repair United Kingdom
1994 Ivar M. Mendez, MD, PhD, FAANS University of Lund Sweden
1993 Mark E. Linskey, MD, FAANS Ludwig Institute for Cancer Research England
1992 Mary Louise Hlavin, MD, FAANS Cambridge University England
1991 Ian F. Pollack, MD, FAANS Centre Hospitalier Universitaire Vaudois/University of Uppsala Switzerland/Sweden
1990 Walter A. Hall, MD, FAANS Norwegian Radium Hospital/Frenchay Hospital Norway/England
1989 David W. Newell, MD, FAANS Inselpital Switzerland
1988 Mark W. Jones, MD, FAANS Queens Square England
1987 Emily D. Friedman, MD, FAANS Sandoz Institute/Hospital Salpetriere/Laboratory of Professor Bjorklund England/France/Sweden
1986 Edward George Hames III, MD, PhD, FAANS Kings College England
1985 Marc R. Mayberg, MD, FAANS Queens Square England
1984 Edmund Frank, MD Universitaire Vaudis Switzerland
1983 Lawrence F. Borges, MD, FAANS Merck, Sharpe & Dohme Research Laboratories England
1982 Larry Van Carson, MD, MBA, FAANS Hospital Foch France
1981 Stephen J. Haines, MD, FAANS Radcliffe Infirmary England
1980 L. Dade Lunsford, MD, FAANS Karolinska Sjukhuset Sweden
1979 George W. Tyson, MD, MBA, FAANS(L) Institute of Neurological Sciences Scotland
1978 Jay D. Law, MD Centro Ramon y Cajal Spain
1977 William F. Chandler, MD, FAANS(L) Karolinska Institute Sweden
1976 Patrick J. Kelly, MD, FAANS(L) Saint Ann and Foch Hospitals/Western General Hospital France/Scotland
1975 Lawrence H. Pitts, MD, FAANS(L) Institute of Neurological Sciences Scotland
1974 W. Michael Vise, MD Max Planck Institute Germany
1973 Joan L. Venes, MD Wellcome Research Institute Scotland
1972 Robert A. Ratcheson, MD FAANS(L) Brain Research Laboratory Sweden
1971 Ira C. Denton Jr., MD, FAANS(L) Kantonsspital Zurich Switzerland
1970 M. Peter Heilbrun, MD Bispejerg & Rigs Hospitals Denmark
1969 John M. Tew Jr., MD, FAANS(L) Kanatonsspital Zurich Sweden
1968 Richard M. Bergland, MD Oxford University United Kingdom