Washington E-Newsletter

AANS and CNS Support Legislation Banning Electronic Funds Transfer Fees

  • AANS Washington Office

On Jan. 24, the Regulatory Relief Coalition sent a letter to Reps. Greg Murphy, MD, (R-N.C), Morgan Griffith (R-Va.), Ami Bera, MD, (D-Calif.), Mariannette Miller-Meeks, MD, (R-Iowa), Derek Kilmer (D-Wash.) and Kim Schrier, MD, (D-Wash.) in support of the No Fees for EFTs Act (H.R. 6487). This bipartisan legislation would prohibit health plans from imposing fees on health care providers for electronic funds transfers, payments and remittance advice transactions. On Feb. 27, Sens. Bill Cassidy, MD, (R-La.) and Maria Cantwell (D-Wash.) introduced the companion bill (S. 3805) in the Senate.

Click here to read the letter.