Skip to Main Content

Governance and Leadership

The AANS is governed by a volunteer group of neurosurgeons, nominated and elected by fellow AANS members, who are committed to advancing the specialty of neurological surgery in order to promote the highest quality of patient care.


If you are a member of any AANS Committee below, you may access committee documents and resources by logging into the Committee Corner section of

Access Committee Corner

Shelly D. Timmons MD, PhD, FAANS, FACS

Christopher I. Shaffrey MD, FAANS


John A. Wilson MD, FAANS, FACS

Alex B. Valadka MD, FAANS, FACS

Regis W. Haid Jr., MD, FAANS

Kathleen T. Craig

Michael A. Chabraja Esq.

Nicholas M. Barbaro MD, FAANS, FACS

E. Antonio Chiocca MD, PhD, FAANS

Aaron A. Cohen-Gadol MD, MSc, MBA, FAANS

Richard G. Ellenbogen MD, FAANS, FACS

Jacques J. Morcos MD, FAANS, FACS

Ann R. Stroink MD, FAANS

Curtis J. Rozzelle MD, FAANS

Gregory R. Trost MD, FAANS

Marc A. Vanefsky MD, FAANS

Andrew E. Wakefield MD, FAANS
Manish K. Aghi MD, PhD, FAANS Ex-Officio
Julian E. Bailes Jr., MD, FAANS Ex-Officio
Robert E. Gross MD, PhD, FAANS Ex-Officio
Regis W. Haid Jr., MD, FAANS Ex-Officio
Robert E. Harbaugh MD, FAANS, FACS Ex-Officio
J Mocco MD, FAANS, FAHA Ex-Officio
Edjah Kweku-Ebura Nduom MD Ex-Officio
Christopher J. Neal MD, FAANS Ex-Officio
Charles J. Prestigiacomo MD, FAANS, FACS Ex-Officio
Mark R. Proctor MD, FAANS Ex-Officio
Joshua M. Rosenow MD, FAANS, FACS Ex-Officio
James T. Rutka MD, PhD, FAANS Ex-Officio
Jason M. Schwalb MD, FAANS, FACS Ex-Officio
Jennifer A. Sweet MD, FAANS Ex-Officio
Michael Y. Wang MD, FAANS Ex-Officio
E. Antonio Chiocca MD, PhD, FAANS Liaison
Richard G. Ellenbogen MD, FAANS, FACS Liaison
Jesus Lafuente MD Liaison
Blas Ezequiel Lopez Felix MD, FAANS Liaison
Patrick J. McDonald MD, FRCSC Liaison
Basant Kumar Misra MD Liaison
Mahmood M. Qureshi MD Liaison
Ganesh Rao MD, FAANS Liaison
Franco Servadei MD Liaison
Claudio G. Yampolsky MD, IFAANS Liaison
Michael Schulder MD, FAANS