Skip to Main Content

MyAANS, password-protected resources, and purchases are currently experiencing issues and are unavailable. We are working to get this fixed as soon as possible.

Neurosurgery Endorses NOPAIN Act

On May 17, the AANS, the CNS, the AANS/CNS Joint Section on Pain and the AANS/CNS Joint Section on Disorders of the Spine and Peripheral Nerves endorsed H.R. 3259, the Non-Opioids Prevent Addiction in the Nation (NOPAIN) Act. Sponsored by Reps. Terri Sewell (D-Ala.), David McKinley (R-W.V.), Ann Kuster (D-N.H.) and Brian Fitzpatrick (R-Pa.), the NOPAIN Act would require Medicare to provide adequate facility reimbursement for innovative and effective alternatives to opioids. In the letter, the neurosurgical groups pointed out that neurosurgeons are on the cutting edge of innovative, non-opioid treatments for chronic pain and acute postoperative pain. In March, the neurosurgical groups endorsed the Senate version of this legislation.

Click here to read neurosurgery’s letter of support.

June E-News