Skip to Main Content

MyAANS, password-protected resources, and purchases are currently experiencing issues and are unavailable. We are working to get this fixed as soon as possible.

Neurosurgeons Elected to ACS Leadership Positions

New members of the American College of Surgeons (ACS) Board of Regents and Board of Governors were recently elected. Former AANS president, Shelly D. Timmons, MD, PhD, FAANS, FACS, was selected as the Board of Regents neurosurgery member. She replaces John L. Atkinson, MD, FAANS, FACS, who served with distinction in this role for the past nine years. The Board of Regents formulates policy and directs the affairs of the ACS.

Mark E. Shaffrey, MD, FAANS, FACS, was selected as a Specialty Society Governor representing the AANS on the Board of Governors. As a Specialty Society Governor, Dr. Shaffrey will serve as a direct communications link between the Fellows of the College and the members of the Board of Governors.

Click here for the announcement.